Skip to content Skip to navigation

Victims of Crime Act Program

The Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) program at the ACCESS Community Health and Research Center provides services and assistance to victims of crime. The program serves the southeast Michigan community, including Wayne, Macomb and Oakland counties. The program helps clients with mental health recovery, healing and justice by providing counseling, psychiatric services, case management and legal advocacy. VOCA serves victims of domestic violence, child abuse, sexual abuse, rape, hate crimes, discrimination, robbery, assault, theft, burglary and survivors of homicide.

Program Goals

  • Improve mental health
  • Improve physical health
  • Raise community awareness about legal rights and resources available for victims of crime

Program Services

  • Privide basic needs services such assisting with clothing, food and transportation and securing safe housing
  • Psychological assessment and/or testing
  • Crisis intervention
  • Psychiatric help
  • Individual, family, and group therapy
  • Parent skills training
  • Case management services and advocacy
  • Referral and follow up
  • Community education on victimization issues
  • Legal support and advocacy
  • Referral for medical services

Target Groups/Client Base

  • Any victim of crime in the southeastern Michigan area

Who receives help?

  • Victims of domestic violence
  • Victims of child physical and sexual abuse
  • Victims of hate crimes
  • Victims of sexual assault
  • Victims of robbery, assault and theft
  • Victims of violent crimes
  • Victims of burglary
  • Homicide survivors and family members

Funding Sources

  • Victims of Crime Act (VOCA)
  • Detroit-Wayne County Community Mental Health Agency (Safety Oasis for Victims of Crime)

Contact:

Hussien Saleh, VOCA Supervisor
hsaleh@accesscommunity.org

Nagham Dabaja, Clinician 
ndabaja@accesscommunity.org

Rawha Abouarabi, Clinician
rabouarabi@accesscommunity.org

Arwa Abduljabbar, Therapist
Aabduljabbar@accesscommunity.org

Nour Beydoun, Therapist
nbeydoun@accesscommunity.org

Semaa Shlebah, Therapist
sshlebah@accesscommunity.org

*All staff members are licensed by the State of Michigan.